EA Meaningful or Not? #4

image_0-img

Electronic Arts Inc. is a leading global interactive entertainment software company. EA delivers games, content and online services for Internet-connected consoles, personal computers, mobile phones and tablets. Ever since I can remember, EA has been a huge part of my life. Sports always revolved around my life as a kid , but I never decided to actually partake in any sport. My dad was a soccer coach and athlete who would encourage me to play a sport but I always felt soccer was not for me. Until, I bought my first EA FIFA video game, I realized how much fun soccer could be. Soccer is like a religion in the Hispanic household. You are surrounded by soccer enthusiasts who live, breathe, and eat soccer. Nonetheless, EA has done a great job understanding their Hispanic consumers. I would say that the brand identity does resonate within the Hispanic market. I can say that EA affects or appeals to many people in a personal or emotional way. Although everyone is different in their own unique way, EA games serves as the common ground that unites and brings everyone together.

With the rise of the Hispanic population, it is evident that they prefer video game         content in Spanish. One of the challenges companies in this industry might face is translating and localizing video games in Spanish. About 300 million people’s native tongue is Spanish. However, not all of these 300 million people speak the same kind of Spanish. Different countries and cultures express the same idea in different ways, even if they speak the same language. Maintaining linguistic coherence and cultural sensitivity is key to a successful international release.

Leave a comment